The downside of teeth

Pia is a whopping 7 months old- sitting up, crawling, eating solids, sometimes even eating bits of paper she finds on the floor- big markers for the first year of life. She is sporting two little teeth, razor sharp pearly whites which were quite troublesome for her while breaking through. Perhaps it is because she is our only baby who has taken a pacifier, or perhaps it is something else, but these two little teeth are now causing me trouble. The kind of trouble resulting from her clamping down her jaws and trying to gnaw on me.

Sure each of the other girls chomped down once or twice, but it was easily curbed by a loud quick, reactionary OUCH from Mom and only happened after they had TOP teeth. The other night Pia bit be 4 times before midnight, so bad I was struggling with such pain and frustration I decided to stop nursing her for the rest of the night. Usually I will give her some milk then rock her the rest of the way to sleep with the Pacifier until able to lay her down in her crib, she wasn’t latched on for more than a minute before digging those teeth into me. She was having a rough night, I was reduced to tears. I know that Mamma’s milk is the exact thing her little body needs to get better, so there I was left in the dark wrestling between guilt and resentment as I listened to Matt rock her back down in the other room. 3 years, 7 months of nearly continually doing this and this was the first time I really felt like I wanted to throw in the towel and just quit. The biting comes on top of this funky chafing-chapped-possible-fungal thing I have had going on since December. We have treated ourselves for everything from Thrush to dry skin and the only thing that keeps the dryness, itching, burning, cracking and bleeding at bay is someone else’s prescription ointment, which I am now completely out of after scraping up the last of the residue with a q-tip. Yesterday she bit me another two times. Today we so far stand at once.

Araiya nursed until 15 months; Tallis 11. Both girls self-weened and I was rather sad to have that season of our relationships come to a close. This time around, even the marker that Tallis left- 4 months away- seems far too long to endure, especially when those TOP two teeth come in. I know I say this now, in the heat of it. In the big picture, I do desire for Pia to nurse as long as possible; I am so thankful that nursing my children has been so easily in light of the women I know who just struggle to do this and wrestle with the judgmental guilt imposed from other women; I am so glad to be an integral part of providing the nourishment she needs that is meant specifically for her and for the sweet, irreplaceable relationship it provides between her and I; when it does come to an end, I know in my heart it will be a sad day, as she is our last, our baby and that will be the ultimate sign she will have moved out of that stage, it will be gone forever.

~ by gdesign on March 17, 2009.

3 Responses to “The downside of teeth”

  1. Have you asked your ob or the breastfeeding center about a staph infection? That is what I had with Gavin for his first 8 weeks of life and it was just awful. A special compounded ointment my midwives prescribed healed it completely. I think I have some on hand that will probably expire by the time I’ll need it again if you’d like to give it a shot.

  2. Keep working ,great job!

  3. D, the third, quit nursing earlier; he was too distracted by the antics of his siblings. Hang in there. And as wonderful as the intimate focus of nursing is, it will immediately be replaced by yet another meaningful focus. xo

Leave a Reply

 
