Happy 2nd Blogiversary!

blossoms-2

Who knew I could be consistent enough to maintain something for two whole years? Certainly not me. My usual track record of starting things which are excessively overambitious and beyond my real capabilities to keep up ending in a slow death of me letting them fizzle out. Honestly, I can’t believe I’m still at this. What started as a fun, on the side whim two years ago is now a part of my life (well it should be right? It’s about our life). I guess I had kinda hoped to coincide this date with my 400th post, but sadly I have fallen 11 posts short. That doesn’t mean that I’m going to commit myself and resolve to blog everyday single day from now on, but overall it does seem that I’m am really hooked.  Even though there have been lulls over the past two years, I never stopped thinking about what I was going to write next or when I was doing whatever I had in progress would frequently comment, “I’m so blogging this”.  The best part is that I have met so many wonderful people and reconnected virtually with old friends separated by time and distance. That’s a wonderful by-product of this blogging thing.

blossoms-3

I started out pretty darn general and without expecting much at all. Eventually, the blog grew into something more: a personal expression, a place to post my images, and a part of a community. Above all, this space gives me a purpose and something to do with all the images and thoughts and projects and activities I have processing around in my head. So thanks to all of you who visit here and actually read my ramblings! 🙂 All in all, I have learned a lot, realized a lot. Like the fact that the name of this blog lends itself to believe it is a design journal, which hasn’t been very congruent in reality. I think it is about more and I know that sometimes, style and substance can co-exist. As I looked back through the last two years’ worth of posts, I was simply glad I’ve chronicled our lives. The good and the not so good. Memories I had forgotten about. Things to look back on and laugh at. A visual collection of how we have grown and changed. Since last year’s anniversary, I’ve about quadrupled the number of unique visitors that come here each month at an average of just under 100 people a day. I think that is pretty good for a blog that straddles the line between surface and too personal, perpetually is suffering an identity crisis and that writes about nothing in particular.

blossoms-1

I suppose I’ll stick with it a while longer.

~ by gdesign on January 27, 2009.

4 Responses to “Happy 2nd Blogiversary!”

  1. even if I didn’t know you, I would still thoroughly enjoy reading your blog. keep it up as long as it’s fun! *back to lurking*

  2. identity is for grown-ups. it has been great to encourage your youthful, creative pursuits here, and exciting to see our childish adventures together chronicled. looking forward to what 20 more years of this medium will bring! [loving you]

  3. you really should get your blog printed into a book, just for your family. perhaps one book per year with all the posts (text and photos). it would be amazing for you and your kids to read years down the road.

  4. 2 Years already! Wow! I always really enjoy reading about your girls, your photoraphy, and misc things. It’s amazing how so many people can find your blog randomly and become loyal readers! Keep up the blogging!

Leave a Reply

 
