Terrarium crafts

letters-19

I really don’t know how I began wanting a terrarium. They keep crossing my path- the Ace Hotel had some beautiful large vintage Ball jars in the lobby and just yesterday while shopping on Etsy I came across some more. Terrarium is a rather general term, but more specifically (I have learned this now thanks to Google) I am really in love with Moss terrariums. There is a part of me that thinks, gee those would be cake to make. But the more realistic part thinks with my track record of killing plants and lack of expertise in this area, $30 or so is actually a darn good price to get a well done (eh-em, correctly done) terrarium. 

Then we walked to and from Tougo’s this morning. I noticed moss here. I noticed moss there. I noticed different kinds of mosses. I noticed I was thinking how cool the mosses were.

letters-1

So we (er, I) decided to do an afternoon craft with Araiya during the little girls’ nap time. We would make terrariums. It can’t be that hard, right? So we found some resources. We found some inspiration. And more inspiration. Okay, and a little more. Then we set to collecting ingredients outside, armed with a small shovel, bucket and baby monitor. Araiya quickly became very good at finding all kinds of different mosses- on the stairs, on the tree trunks, on the neighbor’s rockery. We only had to wander about 60 feet to and fro in front of our house to fill the bucket. Then we collected some pea gravel and mulch and set to work inside preparing the jars to house living things.

letters-4

letters-6 letters-7

This was incredibly easy. Very understood by a Three year old who by a few jars in could do a whole terrarium almost all by herself. That caused us to get a bit carried away.

letters-10

letters-13

letters-22

Here are a few of our creations:

letters-15 letters-14
letters-12 letters-11
letters-17 letters-18

I thought how incredible the tiny world and details reside in the mounds of green stuff I so often disregard, how that is so much the appeal of terrariums. Of course now that we have nearly a dozen, the goal will be to maintain them (thankfully they should be really low maintenance) and keep the ‘crafting’ from continuing in the from of taking them apart or dumping the contents all over the floor. Perhaps I can channel the next appropriate (and not so messy) step in this craft in finding some little miniature woodland creatures or figurines to reside in the jars. Fingers are crossed that they last!!

letters-24

~ by gdesign on January 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
