Peas in a Pod

Today I was looking back over the 700+ pictures of Araiya in her Flickr set as I am anticipating her Third Birthday Tomorrow. It has been hard to accept my firstborn turning Three, as this milestone is seeming pretty significant to me. I can’t believe how much she has changed, matured and developed, that the little baby I once held almost can’t possibly be the same as this little girl who brightens each of my days. And I noticed, though, how Araiya and Pia looked very much alike in their newborn pictures. I can attest to me they look very different, and Tallis right away looked very different from Araiya. But clicking between pictures today, I now am seeing such a similarity, I almost can’t tell them apart in photos taken within a few days of each of their births. We could almost play a who’s who game:

Newborn Araiya:

araiya3 Newborn Araiya Violet_4

Newborn Tallis:

dayone_8.jpg dayone_6.jpg

Newborn Pia:

DSC_0279-23 Newborn Pia

Nose. Eyes. Lips. So close.

As they have each grown the differences have become so much more obvious that they are each their own little person. Each have changed and continue to change at such a rapid rate, I almost fear my memories of their distinctness I saw so starkly in the previous stages is slipping, as the record I have made lies in the wake of all these thousands of photos we have taken. And today, for the first time, I almost can’t distinguish my girls. Regardless, they are each beautiful and incredibly special, tied together by the genetics that both divergently varies and connects them.

~ by gdesign on August 25, 2008.

One Response to “Peas in a Pod”

  1. Wendy is always saying Araiya looks a lot like you and Tallis like Matt…It’s amazing how similar they are in infancy. Great series of photos.

Leave a Reply

 
