Absent ramblings

Yes, I am still here. Pardon the quietness. In all honesty, it has been a good little sabbath, though quite unintentional. Thanks for the inquiries, though! Sadly the nearly week long span of not posting is not due to anything baby-related (though I would hope that will come soon and I have a whole slew of thoughts on that). No, the absence has been more photo-related, as without pictures I feel just rather boring. That camera had become an extra appendage to my body (hopefully the girl who bought it is enjoying it). The downside of course is that I really miss my creative outlet of photography and am very eager to begin doing that again. The upside is that through this whole process of upgrading equipment my hope is to really step up my photography a notch. Wait, let me reiterate- the new camera itself will not miraculously cause me to miraculously make better photos, but is simply a tool. A tool in which I am putting more emphasis and effort into to seek betterment in the creativity and daily record I enjoy. Photography is a way of seeing. Right now I feel as if I have misplaced my glasses. What it really comes down to though, is that I can’t have this baby until the camera arrives.

Beyond that, we really have been pretty boring. Going about the usual daily routines with a few highlights of crafting, outings and such. One thing I will pass on is that we made homemade ice cream yesterday in baggies, just like Middle School Science Class (remember that?). Despite wishing I could take pictures of the process (use your imagination here), it was a good little activity and thankfully not beyond the attention span of a 2 year old. Rewarding too! Here is the recipe I used, modified from here (with instructions here), as I chose to go non-dairy and not use Cow’s Milk:

1 Can Coconut Milk (not the lite stuff)
2 Tablespoons Sugar
1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
4 Tablespoons Chocolate Cocoa Powder
1/2 Teaspoon Cinnamon
1/8 Teaspoon Chili Powder 

The rest of the instructions are the same as the first link. My version is not perfect. Next time I would try to utilize the flavor of the Coconut a little better- maybe a Ginger Lime or Raspberry. The Powdered Chocolate also tasted a bit, well, powdery. I would have also added Chocolate Chips and used a Rice Dream or Goat Milk instead of the Coconut for a chocolate-y flavor. Guess that is why this originated as a science experiment, right?

~ by gdesign on July 31, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
