Two To Tutu

dsc_8163

Monday Araiya and I cruised over to a closing Hancock’s fabrics to hit up their final clearance sale. There was very little left to pilfer through, so rather than get anything I actually needed, I bought 6 yards of vibrant red tulle make new tutu’s for the girls. I got a little carried away with making it really poofy, so in the end we got one Super-Dooper Poofy tutu for less than $4. I also thought I would share how I did it, since it was a very easy and quickly gratifying project for both me and Araiya. She has worn it non-stop since I finished it yesterday. We might even have to bring it to the beach tomorrow. The below tutorial is better viewed by clicking on it and heading over to Flickr.

tutututorial

The red was the only color they had a large enough quantity of, so I need to be on the lookout for more in another color for Tallis, who has been immensely jealous of her sister’s luscious thick tutu. Thankfully Araiya has been keen to share with her sister. I found original instructions included with a photo on Flickr a while back, and now of course can’t re-find that picture to reference. The above is my adaption for a smaller child. If you make one, send pictures my way!

dsc_8161

EDIT: Found the Flickr photo with the original explanation, so to give credit where credit is due, this pic visually shows the final knot.

~ by gdesign on June 25, 2008.

4 Responses to “Two To Tutu”

  1. i LOOOOOOOOVE the tutu. absolutely love it. i definitely will be making/having my sister make tutus for her baby.

  2. visit http://www.1000tutus.com

  3. […] the resources of the internet and other blogs. So far we have been having a grand old time with the Tutu’s as well as playdough, coloring and even some painting. If anyone has any more to share, please do […]

  4. […] The Tutu’s are multiplying. Just like Pringle’s (or is it Lay’s?) Potato Chips, you can’t have just one. Especially when you have multiple girls. And their friends. […]

Leave a Reply

 
