Pleasure and Indulgence

DSC_8066

This cute pack of chocolates was a gift to me from Matt’s Brother and his girlfriend, who visited us this weekend. I am such a sucker for good dark chocolate, and the little box and individual packaging is so intricate. I kept them up on the shelf above my computer, out of sight and reach of little hands, to save for an afternoon indulgence. Yesterday I took it to the back bedroom, where there is better afternoon light, to take some pictures to share here. The once piece I had was wonderful, rich and thoroughly enjoyable. The plan was to savor the three, selectively saving each one to be enjoyed later. But distracted by reality, left them atop the dresser. 

DSC_8063 DSC_8061

Came back later, after Araiya had become a bit too quiet, indicating she was likely getting into trouble, to find her consuming the last of my chocolate in our bed, wearing only her undies. She looked up like a deer in the headlights, freezing with guilt as she had been caught in the act as she clutched both her dolly and the wrappers, smudges across her mouth and my pillow, residue of the obvious evidence of her consumption of something deliciously richly enticing she knows she should not have done. It is in those moments I don’t know whether to laugh or get mad. I see far too much of myself, stealing away to enjoy small portions of gluttony in fueling and caving to the too-strong tempting draw of a chocolate addiction. She’s a chip off the old block, for sure.

dsc_8071

~ by gdesign on June 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
