WPC #10

The Weekly Photo Challenge Word of the Day for this week’s theme:

fustian \FUHS-chuhn\,
noun:
1. A kind of coarse twilled cotton or cotton and linen stuff, including corduroy, velveteen, etc.
2. An inflated style of writing or speech; pompous or pretentious language.

adjective:
1. Made of fustian.
2. Pompous; ridiculously inflated; bombastic.

DSC_7780

Most of today was spent in the realms of Microsoft and Windows. I know, I know, the Dark Side. We even paid a visit to the Evil Empire itself to take advantage of a friend’s discount at the Company Store. Am I slipping? Actually, I really don’t get too caught up in waving my flag too vocally in the Mac vs. PC debate, though I am fully invested in one team. I think both have pros and cons. But, man I am so used to Apple. They just work. It is easy. It is beautiful. I realized I am such a Mac snob. It seems so archaic to be in the Windows environment. We just made our first large(ish) business purchase, a new 24″ iMac. Drool. It’s wonderful. We also just bought a full version of Autocad 2009, which Autodesk monopolizes that market and has resisted releasing an Mac OS version. So our objective is to run CAD through an emulator, like VMware Fusion or Bootcamp, which we have tested at the Apple Store and worked flawlessly. It is the only program keeping us with one foot in the Microsoft pool. This requires the purchase of a Windows Operating System, which I spent the majority of the afternoon installing on the iMac. And wow. It was so cutting edge 1994. We had a good laugh at the graphic presentation of the installer and the language highlighting all the wonderful new things XP offers. Wow. I think I am rather Fustian-ated from this process, don’t you think? Or am I the only one that found this funny?

DSC_7776

DSC_7775  DSC_7778

~ by gdesign on May 9, 2008.

One Response to “WPC #10”

  1. Funny! But what can I say. The Evil Empire pays our bills, so…

Leave a Reply

 
