WPC #8

Our Weekly Photo Challenge word from Dictionary.com’s Monday Word of the Day:

chimera \ky-MIR-uh\, noun:
1. (Capitalized) A fire-breathing she-monster represented as having a lion’s head, a goat’s body, and a serpent’s tail.
2. Any imaginary monster made up of grotesquely incongruous parts.
3. An illusion or mental fabrication; a grotesque product of the imagination.
4. An individual, organ, or part consisting of tissues of diverse genetic constitution, produced as a result of organ transplant, grafting, or genetic engineering.

dsc_7573

Wow was this an interesting word this week. I don’t know exactly why, likely from looking at Marcy’s WPC post for this word, I kept mentally repeating ‘reflection of a depraved mind’ when I was thinking about how to best put together my take on this challenge. Which ended up fitting, as my illusion or mental fabrication of the theme I needed to shoot. Which fits even better, because the above picture is of our suitcase, sitting empty in the living room while we are supposed to be leaving for Portland in 3 hours. And here I am posting my Weekly Photo Challenge submission about the whole thing. Why, oh why did I leave packing until the last minute? What it comes down to is my grossly incongruous mental assumptions that either, a. Friday was further away then RIGHT NOW and I fabricated more time in my head, or b.) assumptions of my ability to single-handedly pack for 4 people, leave the house in a semi-decent state, prepare documentation of our loose itinerary to bring along, stay atop my self-imposed deadline for this challenge, and care for two kids during the process were all grossly disproportionate figments of my imagination. I have become a Margins person, but this time blew it big time- no lists, no folders, no time line. But you know what? We are going to have fun this weekend and my stress is really a fabrication of me feeling like I have to micromanage every detail. So hey, here I go, off to fill my suitcase.

~ by gdesign on April 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
