WPC #3

This Monday’s Word of the Day from Dictionary.com for the third Weekly Photo Challenge is:

inchoate \in-KOH-it\, adjective:
1. In an initial or early stage; just begun.
2. Imperfectly formed or formulate

I thought this week’s word would be fairly easy. There are numerous things and events that would fit inchoate. Many things I could photograph. But they were all things. This word is an adjective- it expresses a feeling and a state. Sure, I could capture things that embody the descriptive meaning, but I found myself being more abstract than that. The underlying beginning which formulates so much of my daily life starts with my mornings, my awakenings, my rituals and habits, the environment surrounding me. Not a morning person, I often feel an inadequate beginning to the start of my day, a slow bumbling of trying to get moving and be productive. I set to capture that. And took many photographs. Too many, so that I couldn’t pick just one, as I realized all these things together in composition form the emotional ties and meaning. I think I am cheating. These are the things I found this morning which this week set the stage for me gearing up for the day ahead:

DSC_6940 copy DSC_6917 DSC_6923 DSC_6932 copy DSC_6919 DSC_6945 DSC_6937 DSC_6943 copy

1. Opening in the curtains of our bedroom, filtering in the morning light
2. Perfectly round drop of dew on a blade of grass growing in the planter boxes outside our front window
3. Trees beyond the vibrant (and fake) yellow flowers in the planter boxes
4. Araiya’s toes, as she laid on the chaise lounge with her blankie, not quite awake
5. Another piece of grass with a string of dew beads, perfectly lined up down the blade
6. White fluffy and warm bedding I forced myself to crawl out from under
7. Lemon on the stainless steel table from which I made my natural cough/throat drink with honey and hot water
8. The arm of the Eames Rocker blending in with the light from the window of our bedroom

See other participant’s awesome photo interpretations:
Marcy
Erin

~ by gdesign on March 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
