WPC #2

dsc_6790

dsc_6788

Weekly Photo Challenge #2, Monday’s word of the day for this week from Dictionary.com is:

recherche \ruh-sher-SHAY\, adjective:
1. Uncommon; exotic; rare.
2. Exquisite; choice.
3. Excessively refined; affected.
4. Pretentious; overblown.

This week was really a challenge. I can’t say that I am ever around much exotic pretense nor often do I come across it on a regular basis. I like nice things, but deep down am still a jeans and t-shirts kinda gal, not much that I have would I consider exquisite or rare. We didn’t even put fine china on our wedding registry because we knew we wouldn’t use it. But there are a few select items that I do cherish and therefore never use because they are rare and irreplaceable. These bowls are part of a dish set that was bought in Japan in the 1950’s by a family friend. She kept them locked away with her bone china and crystal champagne glasses. She was quite the refined gal, sang Opera and danced professional Ballet in her youth, traveled the world up until her death, and was known to bring out a 25-year-old bottle of wine from Austria at dinner parties she hosted. So this set remains stashed away in the back of a cabinet, out of fear the delicacy and age would be damaged by use. They are simply too good for me. Or at least I perceive using them in unworthy ways might degrade their value. Matt however commonly uses the bowls for Granola and yogurt breakfasts. Guess we don’t see eye to eye on the fact something this fine deserves a more refined use.

Here is Jared’s Entry, which motivated me to clean my office space.

Anyone else do the challenge this week?

~ by gdesign on March 7, 2008.

2 Responses to “WPC #2”

  1. I had ideas, but not the time to capture them this week. Looking forward to next week…great photos as always.

  2. Took the photos Thursday, but didn’t get them up until now. At least I beat Monday by 37 minutes. One of these days I’ll be on time, and I’ll take a good picture like you.

Leave a Reply

 
