Newness

Packages are great. Expected or not, I love receiving mail with goodies to open. I remember as a kid my Grandmother sending us big boxes filled with packing peanuts and an equal number of cheap trinkets she got through her credit card company. We would dig through the box, uncovering treasure after treasure and divvying up who got to keep what. In this next week I am expecting three packages. It’s like Christmas all over again.

dsc_6612

Package #1 was a Smith Optics Pro Order. Matt and I finally broke down and bought ourselves new ski goggles. We also got a friend a helmet with our super-awesome ski instructor discount. It’s so shallow how worked up I get over these kind of things. I mean, they are just goggles and I go bouncing off the walls unable to control myself from tearing the package open. Then I have to take pictures and write about it here. Seriously, they are the first goggles I have gotten since I found a pair of Bolle’s in a locker at Alpine Meadows in High School. Finally, a nice pair that won’t fog and will actually fit in my helmet. That merits excitement, right? So long as you overlook the smoldering consumerism and metaphysical materialism in my coveting of these purchases.

The really exciting package is supposed to arrive today. This is the one where I have been clicking on the ‘track package’ UPS page every 5 minutes all week. Sioux Falls, SD to Omaha, NE to Commerce City, CO to Hermiston, OR to Redmond, WA to Seattle. And today, at 8:33am, it updated to ‘Out for Delivery.’ So now I gaze out the front window every 5 minutes, awaiting the big brown truck to come lumbering around the corner. See? I am even wearing my goggles while I wait.

You see, I think deeper than just the coolness or the newness of these items lies the meaning of what their use will be, what I will do with them and how inextricably tied to the enjoyment of this life we lead. They enable us to do the things we do better. It is about things and activities with people, and people really matter. But how often we get hung up on the object when in reality we simply use the object to enjoy, love and build relationships with people? Receiving a package is inextricably tied to someone’s thoughtfulness and care. It is not the object contained in the package but the relationship between giver and receiver. Even in this case, where we bought items for ourselves, there was time, thought and resources put into the selection of items we contemplated would change, enhance or improve the things we use them for. We enjoy skiing together and teaching Araiya and through those activities are building relational memories with her and with each other that will shape the fullness of her and our life as individuals and in community.

Regardless, I still find it ridiculously fun to open brown postal boxes and revel in the anticipation of it’s arrival. Maybe because it gives me an opportunity to poke fun at myself and expose the areas where I covet things a little too closely. And I get to post goofy pictures of myself, which I rarely ever take (I really don’t like having my picture taken). It allows me to expose myself, my weaknesses which often times I conveniently overlook. It’s like opening the package of myself. We tend to box ourselves up to protect the inner goods from damage, but in the process cut our true selves off from people by hiding. Like these yellow lenses, I hope the simple daily happenings can be filtered and contrasted to better understand myself and share it with others.

Anyone want to go skiing tomorrow? I’ll be at Alpental all day.

~ by gdesign on February 15, 2008.

One Response to “Newness”

  1. I’m right there with you, except my package highs usually come from brand new fluffy diapers.

Leave a Reply

 
