Photos

dsc_6170

The Christmas Card photos ended up being a bit of a bust. Disappointing, to say the least. I know many people who have great prints from Costco. I guess we are just not in that group this round. For one, the cropping was way off. Most of the black snowflakes were cut off along with about half my face. I am more bothered by the color calibration. Both photos printed up dull. Low saturation and poor tinting. The snow set has a rather blue tinge. I spend a good deal of time and care with my photos, particularly color. In the past, I have spent way to much effort color calibrating software to monitors to printers to paper to ink. With the laptops the screens are dialed in so what you see is what you get. With any printing other than from my own printers I expect a slight variation. Slight. These results are far beyond slight.

dsc_6161

Well, lessons learned. Thankfully a sub-ten dollar lesson. And I still sent them out, Matt thinks most recipients won’t notice. Perhaps I am just too anal when it comes to the things I create. Too much of a perfectionist with my own work. Sometimes I get asked about my photos, what kind of camera I have, how I get my photos to look the way they do. Well, I will explain: Photography has been a bit of a side passion, something I have done for fun as well as for money. For four years in College I worked in a Photography studio equipped with super high-end digital cameras, pro lighting set-ups, editing studios and professional printing output all the way down to a full dark room. I was a lab tech assisting and teaching the ins and outs of the studio. It was great and I took full advantage of having all of those resources at my fingertips.

dsc_6163

I will admit I am a huge film buff. I believe Analog photography is a pure art form. Digital has it’s place, and I hope it will continue blossom into it’s own branch of media. But too often it attempts to copy is predecessor. I think the true art form of photography will remain intact through medium and large format- my ultimate wish list included a Hasselblad set-up. I would still shoot film if I still had such easy access to a darkroom. A darkroom is also on the wish list. In fact, I do still shoot film for all the really important stuff. The only reason I am having such a good time playing around with digital photography is because our Nikon D100 was an amazing gift. A gift we get so much use and enjoyment out of. The lenses were bought from KEH’s bargin basement or purchased from a pro photographer professor of ours. Honestly we haven’t spent a fortune on camera gear. We have been lucky and hunted down great deals. However I couldn’t live without Photoshop. I do spend time editing each photo. I don’t know any good photographers who don’t touch up their shots- even in film. Each shot is pretty close to the finished result, correct exposure and cropped in the camera. Most often I just adjust minor details, there is no major tweaking in the software. I have to say I am still experimenting with the ‘look’ I am after- somewhere between crisp frozen reality and ethereal. Most of what I am shooting are in attempts to capture all these fleeting moments as they whiz by.

dsc_6168

A while back I wanted to start shotting with vintage cameras. This old Kodak Brownie is from a Professor- the label with name still attached. I took it up to the Palisades Glacier in the John Muir wilderness many years ago and got a few wonderful shots. Most of the 12 frames on the roll overlapped one another because they don’t make the 120mm film cartridges the same as they once were. And there were some wonderful light leaks. Fun to loose that control you have over the outcome, which was the whole point of using such a camera. I wish to continue pursuing creative outlets like this, perhaps it may help me loosen up ideals and perfectionism a bit. Often times the newer technologies don’t allow for such imperfections that in the end, become interestingly beautiful.

~ by gdesign on December 22, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
