A spoon full of sugar (and chocolate, and flour..)

Trying to keep Araiya occupied and out of trouble while being cooped up inside is never too difficult. She loves to help in the kitchen and baking has become an enjoyable activity for us both. While I love baking, I sadly love baking yummy goodies that are not the best for trimming off that excess baby weight leftover from pregnancy. This was my attempt at ‘healthy’ brownies, in part to the fact we have no eggs and I can’t justify a trip to the grocery store with two sick kids just to fuel my cravings of chocolate. So I Googled “eggless brownies” and went with the first recipe to pop up. Well, I can say it wasn’t a total wash, as Araiya had a fun time making them with me. But the brownies weren’t very good. Now I tend to view recipes more as guidelines and suggestions. This one probably needed more tweaking- it was nice and cake-y and used yogurt opposed to milk fat solids and eggs, but even with doubling the amount of cocoa powder and adding more sugar, it was not sweet enough and not nearly chocolaty enough. My all time favorite brownie recipe is the one on the back of the Baker’s Squares box, just like the Toll House Chocolate Chip recipe- it is best to go with a classic. Like I said, at least we had fun:

brownie_03.jpg

brownie_03.jpg

brownie_06.jpg

But to at least pass on something yummy, here is my new favorite Carrot Cake recipe, which we made Sunday as a birthday cake and used up the last of the eggs (my alterations included):

THE BEST CARROT CAKE

Mix together:
4 eggs
2 c. sugar (I halved this and it was fine)
1 1/2 c. salad oil

Sift together and add to the above ingredients:
2 c. flour
2 tsp. soda
2 tsp. cinnamon (I doubled this)

Add:
3 c. finely shredded carrots
1 tsp. vanilla (doubled this as well)
A pinch of salt

Place batter in 9 x 13 inch pan, greased and floured. Bake at 325 degrees for 40 minutes or until done.

ICING:
1 stick butter (more than halved this as well)
1 (8 oz.) block cream cheese (doubled it- one low-fat block one non-fat block)
1 tsp. vanilla
1 box powdered sugar

Mix together and spread on – Remember to keep cake refrigerated, because of cream cheese in icing.

~ by gdesign on June 27, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
