Operation: de-BEIGE

Most homeowners are faced with the same doomed prospects: beige walls, beige linoleum, beige carpeting, beige exterior. When did ‘designer colors’ become varying shades of muddled tan? Gag me. I don’t know anyone who likes beige.. well, beyond this reference:

Sister Encarnación: “Well, my favorite color is light tan. My favorite animal is puppies. I like serving the Lord. Hiking, play volleyball…”

Nacho: “You gotta be kidding me. Everything you just said, is MY favorite thing to do, every day!”

Give me clean, bright, stark white. A clean base to build upon with select controlled colors. Amazing how much life and light is brought into the space with the simple change of departing from the world of beige. Funny, however, many friends who have stopped in or come to help complemented us on our ‘colors’- referring to the walls we were prepping to paint over. Perhaps we are too desensitized to expect and want beige it has somehow become desirable. I guess I am just too much of a minimalist.

I also came across Ikea’s Be Brave, Not Beige campaign in the UK. My favorite? Click on the top left window (orange & white curtain) to see “fitness Bob” get his sweat on.

~ by gdesign on April 27, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
