Listing

list
-noun


  1. 1. A series of names, words, or other items written, printed, or imagined one after the other: a shopping list; a guest list; a list of things to do.

  2. 2. A stripe or band of color.

The nesting instinct is setting in. At almost 33 weeks in this pregnancy, my mind is mulling over mental checklists of preparations and undertakings for the next Seven weeks. I wake up at least twice a night these days- once to pee, once again around 4am to pee and eat a bowl of cereal. After the cereal the baby gets active and I lie in bed making lists of to-do’s until we are both settled enough to sleep more. There is a long list of things we have to do, such as replenish our birth supplies, gather together items we will need for the birth and a few more items to buy.

But what I think about most often is the things I want to do. My sketchbook is full of pages of not only stuff to make for the baby, but stuff I want to make for Araiya and things I want to make for us. Everything is designed out in my head, I lie there and mull over the details- materials, composition, construction, each step in the process of making. This list keeps growing longer. While the other one is presumably getting shorter, this one is perpetually being added to.

This tunic for Araiya pressed it’s importance of priority in my head one morning and subsequently jumped to the top of the list this last week. I have been really liking Linens as of late. The cotton print is leftovers from a quilt I made my Grandmother for her 85th birthday paired with a small strip of orange cotton satin. More pictures over at Flickr.

~ by gdesign on January 29, 2007.

One Response to “Listing”

  1. […] of my office chair I seek the tools of the internet to make things a bit easier around here. See, I list. I rack up line item after line item of things that need to get done. I organize my life into […]

Leave a Reply

 
